Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee is entrusted with developing the core programme of UEG Week.

The committee meets four times a year and is in constant communication with the UEG Secretariat to smooth out the details of the scientific programme management. This on-going and dynamic relationship between our volunteers and the Secretariat is key to the high quality programme people have come to expect at UEG Week.

Scientific Committee 2020

Chair Scientific Committee

Herbert Tilg

Innsbruck Medical University
Innsbruck, Austria

Scientific Committee Members

Alessio Aghemo, Italy (EASL)

Alberto Arezzo, Italy (EAES)

Marianna Arvanitakis, Belgium (INDEPENDENT)

Marina Berenguer, Spain (INDEPENDENT)

Guy Boeckxstaens, Belgium (INDEPENDENT)

Giuseppe Brancatelli, Italy (ESGAR)

Arjan Bredenoord, Netherlands (INDEPENDENT)

Marco Bruno, Netherlands (EAGEN)

Elisabetta Buscarini, Italy (NSC REPRESENTATIVE)

Iris Dotan, Israel  (ECCO)

Irene Esposito, Germany (ESP)

Antonio Gasbarrini, Italy (EHMSG)

Peter Hegyi, Hungary (EPC)

Henriette Heinrich, United Kingdom (YTG REPRESENTATIVE)

Roel Hompes, Netherlands (ESCP)

Ian Jenkins, United Kingdom (EFISDS)

Francisca Joly, France (ESPEN)

Kaija-Leena Kolho, Finland (ESPGHAN)

Helmut Messmann, Germany (ESGE)

Sabine Roman, France (ESNM)

Gregory Rubin, United Kingdom (ESPCG)

Britta Siegmund, Germany (INDEPENDENT)

Mark van Berge Henegouwen, Netherlands (EDS)

Eric van Cutsem, Belgium (ESDO)

Thomas Wirth, Germany (INDEPENDENT)

United for digestive health  

UEG acts as an umbrella organisation for our Ordinary and National Member Societies in Europe and the Mediterranean Area. 
Get in touch with our members

UEG Secretariat

We are your first contact for the UEG. We help with information on any aspect of your work, from education to EU affairs.
Who we are

Mark your GI event

Check, search and filter upcoming GI events or sign in to myUEG to add your own meeting to our calendar.
Find out more