Lifetime Achievement Award

Each year UEG recognises outstanding individuals who have made fundamental contributions to gastroenterology as a whole and the UEG community in particular. 

Awardees have helped to improve the lives of people with gastrointestinal diseases and their contributions, leadership and impact have been of importance for the UEG community. Their work is widely acknowledged by the gastroenterological community.

Download the complete criteria for nominees and selection process

Nomination is closed.
Nominationing societies will be informed by July 2019.

Lifetime Achievement Awardee 2018: Colm O’Morain

Professor Colm O’Morain was Consultant Gastroenterologist and Professor of Medicine at the Faculty of Health Sciences in Trinity College Dublin and Tallaght University Hospital in Dublin. As Dean of the Faculty and during his academic career, he has been a key opinion leader in three major fields of gastroenterology.

He was one of the first to establish that eradication of H. pylori could cure peptic ulcers permanently and was integrated worldwide in all aspects of H.pylori research and treatment. He lead a laboratory based research programme focusing on fish oils, vitamins and the role of nutrition, as well as the role of heparin in the treatment of IBD. He was instrumental in advocating for colorectal cancer screening on a national as well as on a pan-European level.

Advocacy work by UEG in Brussels was initiated under his chairmanship of the UEG Public Affairs Committee. During his tenure as UEG President 2012-2013, the House of Euroepean Gastroenterology in Vienna was opened and he was active in the European Parliament in advocating for increased funding for health research in his position as President of the Alliance for Biomedical Research in Europe. 

Watch the inverview with Colm O'Morain to find out what this award means to him

Gastroenterologists and Hepatologists

  • who have had a career spanning at least 30 years and are widely acknowledged by the broader gastroenterological community
  • whose outstanding accomplishments have improved the lives of people with GI diseases
  • whose contributions, leadership and impact have been of importance for the UEG community

Past awardees

  • 2017: Anthony Axon, United Kingdom
  • 2016: Günter J. Krejs, Austria
  • 2015: Chris Hawkey, United Kingdom
  • 2014: Christoph Beglinger, Switzerland
  • 2013: Giovanni Gasbarrini, Italy
  • 2012: Jean-Paul Galmiche, France
  • 2011: Hermon Dowling, United Kingdom
  • 2010: Juan-R. Malagelada, Spain
  • 2009: Guido Tytgat, The Netherlands

UEG - United European Gastroenterology
Wilma Hofer

M +43 699 1997 16 43
T  +43 1 997 16 39
F  +43 1 997 16 39 10